Respect to Elders

The story of markandeya maharshi, the child born with Alpaayu but made a chiranjeeva by the grace of Lord Shiva, is well known. His father was Mrukanda maharshi. He also had alpaayu. So after his upanayanam his father told him to bow to all elders and get their blessings. He followed his father’s words. He used to bow to every one whether a pandit or a lay man. Once saptarshis came to Mrukanda’s father. Mrukanda in his usual habit, bowed to them and got the blessings of the great saptarishis. The blessing was “dhirga ayushman bhava”. After knowing the truth that is life was short they went to Lord Bramha to solve this puzzle. Mrukanda bowed to Brahma too. And he also gave him the same boon, “dhirga ayushman bhava”.

Morals in the story:

  1. Respecting elders and parents is one of the foremost principles of Indian culture. Even Lord Krishna used to prostrate before his elders, however bad they may be…
  2. Since the saptarishis always speak the truth, whatever they spoke became true. With the power of truth, even the unavoidable death can be stopped!
Published in: on May 14, 2006 at 2:18 pm  Comments (22)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://moralstories.wordpress.com/2006/05/14/respect-to-elders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. GOD IS THEIR OR NOT I DONOT KNOW.BUT I DO FEEL THEIR GREAT POWER EVERY WHERE.ON THIS EARTH IF THEIR ARE LIVE GODS THEY ARE OUR OWN PARENTS.THEIR STRUGGLE FOR US TELLS HOW GREAT THEY ARE.THEIR FIRST MOTTO IS “IS THEIR KID HAPPY,IS HE SATISFIED”THEN THEY GO FOR THEIR SELF SATISFICATION.HUMBLE THEY ARE,CARING THEY ARE,LOVING THEY ARE.

    BLESSING OF ELDERS ARE REALLY POWER FULL.YOU CAN SEE BEHIND EVERY SUCCESSFULL PERSON THEIRS HAND OF PARENTS BLESSING IN INDIA.PARENTS ARE LIVELY GODS IF WE SERVE THEM LOYALLY THROUGH OUT THE LIFE ITS ENOUGH FOR US IN THIS KALYUG TO GET MOKSHA

    • I know there is one God, and He loves me. He died for me. I was a horrible person who did not respect my elders, but He loved me anyway. Now He is changing me into a better person, and I still have difficulties; nevertheless, He loves me just as much as He did before.

    • god is there its true anyone dont want to have any doubt on that

  2. i normally respect my elders as taught by our parents. But i remember a couple of times when an elderly person is not behaving properly and i couldn’t extent my respect to them.
    i know its not in accordance with our teachings and now i feel guilty too. But if we keep on tolerating their wrong behaviour how would they know that they are wrong and hurting others.

    Reply By MoralStories:
    Elders must always be respected as their blessings makes one an Yashasvi. Shri Krishna paramaatma, even though he knew Duryodhana etc. were very bad, used to do namaskaaram to them as they were elder to him! So if Lord Himself respected elders though they are “bad”, then obviously we must.

    Coming to the issue of telling them they are wrong: they must be advised very humbly — similar to how Nachiketa advised his father.

  3. what there are such hard words i dont understand a THING

  4. don’t know what you saying…

  5. there are such hard words

  6. what is this i can not understand a thing

  7. It’s a beautiful story well written, very important aspect of life, Thank you……………will b sharing with my children……an important asset to stand strong and confident in the odd events of life.

  8. Hii…
    I like such kind of stories which inspire children, Students and even elders.
    i am a teacher and i want to use these stories as blogs in my column on college website..
    I think…it’ll be vry beautiful source of motivation for those who will read these stories..

    Thanks a lot for providing this..thanks!!

  9. hi i really liked the story. Good motivation .A work for values. WELL DONE :) Dr Daljit

  10. its boring :(

  11. Ya ! I like these stories which inspire children

  12. It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of information. I’m happy that
    you just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this.

    Thank you for sharing.

  13. oh! it’s amazing

  14. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

  15. This is really fascinating, You’re an excessively skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to
    seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my
    social networks

  16. I DID NOT READ THE STORY BUT I LEASONED THE STORY SOME WHERE
    BUT I REQUST TO ALL THAT DONT DO ANY WORST COMMENTS ON THE STORY
    DONT MAKE YOUR MIND TO HAVE A DOUBT ON GOD PLEASE

  17. After exploring a handful of the blog posts on your website, I really like your technique of writing a blog.
    I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back
    in the near future. Please check out my web site as well and let me
    know how you feel.

  18. no idea about the story
    if we read once we can’t understand
    we must read twice and thrice until we get grip
    of course nice story


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

